Author Spotlight: John M. Grier

We welcome science fiction author, John M. Grier, creator of the Time Awaits series, an exciting time travel adventure series. John’s books have been  receiving rave reviews from readers.  So sit back, have a cup of coffee, and meet John!

For this visit, Literary Wealth and John are holding a giveaway! One lucky reader will win a copy of 3012: The Artifact! Just leave a comment at the end of the post. One name will be drawn to receive either a print or e-pub version of 3012: The Artifact–Winner’s choice! (Sorry, print version is only available in the US.) Please leave your e-mail address in the comment so that we may contact you.

John M. Grier
author of the Time Awaits Series

Hello, John! Would you tell us a little about yourself?

I’ve had an interesting life so far.  Although I was born in Nebraska, I grew up in Western Maryland.  My mother moved back to her hometown when I was 5 or 6 weeks old…I’m not really sure, the whole experience is rather vague to me.  Anyway, after high school, I spent a brief time in the US Navy.  Since then, I have lived in Northern Minnesota, both North and South Florida and The Bahamas.  Currently, I live in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia with my wife Suzie and our two cats, Jethro and Abby.

I’ve held many jobs, everything from White Water Raft Guide to Weapons Technician to Bank Teller, Printing Press Operator (yes, printing books!!) and Water Treatment Plant Operator.  My wife and I have also dabbled in Civil War reenacting, but have let that sort of fade away these past few years due to a serious lack of free time.

A lot of people are on Twitter these days, so can you describe 3012: The Artifact for us in 140 characters or less (which is the size of a tweet)?

An exciting adventure through time taking you from the far future to the distant past, encountering secret societies, dinosaurs and even a fire breathing dragon!

When did you begin writing 3012: The Artifact?  What inspired this book and how much research was involved in writing it?

Click on Book Cover to purchase on Amazon

I grew up reading both adventure novels as well as Science Fiction and loved them both. As an adult, moving about the country as I have, as well as living for four years in The Bahamas greatly influenced my way of thinking and inspired much of what I write about.  However, my true motivation came from two places.  First, the six years I spent operating a printing press, printing books, many of which became best sellers gave me a better understanding of what people actually tend to read.  To be quite honest, I was surprised at some of the stuff we were printing and came to the conclusion that I could do “at least this good.”  And secondly, many years later, I was reading a novel from a well known author that was so poorly written that I was once again reminded of my time at the printing press when I decided that I could “At least do this good.”  So, the night I finished that book, I laid it down, said a quick prayer asking God for guidance and sat down to write.  That night I wrote several chapters and had a manuscript in a few months, followed by a book (3012: The Artifact) several months later. 

I didn’t stop there.  I immediately began writing my second novel (3012: The Uprising) which is now available.  I hope to have many more in the years to come.

Click on Book Cover to Purchase on Amazon

What or who made the biggest influence on you wanting to become a writer?

Although there are many well known writers that had an impact on me becoming a writer, I would have to say my grandfather influenced me most. He lived an interesting life as well.  He was born in Northern Minnesota in 1906 and grew up in logging camps.  By the time he made it to the eighth grade, he realized (to use his own words) “I’m too stupid to learn” and dropped out part way through his second attempt.  He remained dirt poor most of his life and became a minister at age nineteen.  Never taking a salary for his ministry, he worked his whole life, mostly in logging camps and lumber mills, while studying his Bible in his free time.  When he retired, which he apparently never fully understood the meaning of because he never did stop working, he expanded his ministry and began writing an article in his local newspaper.  He wrote that article, which grew to most of a page in a weekly paper for decades and eventually wrote a book.  Naturally, with his love of the Bible and his life long ministry, his book was religious in nature, and sadly, is currently out of print.  However, the story doesn’t end there.  While my father was studying for his doctorate in theology at the North Tennessee Bible Institute, he gave a copy of my grandfather’s book to the dean of the college.  The dean read it and made the statement “This isn’t a book, it’s a doctoral thesis” and granted my grandfather a doctorate based on his life work.  He was an amazing man and lived to be 100 years old.  He is greatly missed by many people.

What was the first book you ever wrote about and was it ever published?

The first book I ever wrote was 3012: The Artifact. Yes, it was published and is currently available on Amazon.  There are links to purchase it on my website:  www.johnmgrier.com

Do you have any writing habits that people might find unusual?

I suppose the only thing that may be considered unusual is that I require a quiet room.  Music or other ambient noise is very distracting and I find my mind wandering.

Do you have a favorite character or one that is especially close to your heart?

Yes, I suppose I have a few.  Both of my books have the same character group.  Jack, my main character has much of my personality and even looks a bit like me.  Suzie, a hologram with an infectious personality, although described much differently, definitely has my wife’s personality and is the favorite of most people that read the books. 

What is the best gift you have ever received, do you still have it and who gave it to you?

Aside from my faith and salvation, which is the greatest gift of all, I would have to say my wife Suzie.  Things come and go, but the bond that we share is timeless and eternal.

What is something that you have always wanted to do, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet?

Win the lottery.  But seriously, I would love to open a book store, and actual brick and mortar store, not internet based, catering primarily to self and independently published authors.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what three things would you hope to find in your suitcase? 

Interesting question.  Having lived on a remote tropical island for four years, I would say a boat would be real nice.  But a deserted island?  I suppose a sharp knife, perhaps a multi-tool type of knife would be better, lots of duct tape and a book about which plants were safe to eat.

What is your all-time favorite book?

What a tough question…there are so many good ones out there!  I suppose I would have to say The Time Machine by H. G. Wells.

Other than yourself, who is your favorite author?

Again, there are so many really good ones out there.  I am greatly impressed with both H. G. Wells and Jules Verne for what they wrote in the nineteenth century. But, as for a modern author, Clive Cussler is my favorite.

If a TV show was based on your life, what type of TV show would it be (i.e., comedy, drama, suspense, etc.) who would you choose to play the leading character (you), and what would the theme song be? Why?

Like all good TV shows, it would be a combination of all three.  And, although he is several years older than me, and Australian, Geoffery Rush, who played Captain Barbossa in Pirates of the Caribbean would be a good choice.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I read a lot, write when I can, and my wife and I both enjoy target shooting, and yes, she is a much better shot than I am.

Are you an early bird or a night owl?

Early bird!

What is your favorite TV show and/or movie?

Although I really liked the dialog in Pirates of the Caribbean, I am a trekkie at heart.  Star Trek, both the original series as well as The Next Generation are favorites.  Even the newest movie from 2009 ( I think) was very well done.

If you were throwing a dinner party and you could invite five people (fictional or real, dead or alive), other than family or friends, who would you invite and why?

Clive Cussler, to pick his brain since he is my favorite writer;
Stephen Spielberg, because I think my books would make a great movie and I would love to get a copy in his hands;
George Lucas, for the same reason;
Benjamin Franklin, because he is another of my heroes; and
Robert E. Lee, for the same reason.

If you had the opportunity to go anywhere you wanted, at anytime in history, where would you go and why?

I would travel 6000 years or so into the past, to see the world before the great flood of Noah’s day.

What are you currently working on?

I am actually working on two novels at the moment, a third in the Time Awaits series (Crisis) and a young adult novel (Moon Feathers) featuring talking animals that happen to be spies.

Where can people connect with you online?

You can find me on facebook as well as my webpage.

www.johnmgrier.com

http://www.facebook.com/john.m.grier

Thank you so much John M. Grier for being on Literary Wealth! Here’s to Hoping You Get Discovered Today!

GIVEAWAY! Don’t forget to leave a comment  (with your e-mail address so that we may contact you) to enter the drawing for a chance to win a copy of John M. Grier’s first book: 3012: The Artifact! Chance to win ends midnight, Tuesday, June 19!

Categories: Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: John M. Grier

  1. Your books sound like something that my husband would be very interested in reading! Good luck with your writing–wish you all the best.

  2. Great interview. I’m happy for you,and wish you continued success.

  3. Thank you Cindy, and good luck to you as well!

  4. Lauren Carr

    I am so glad to have you here today, John! Your books are a lot of fun. Our readers are going to love them!

  5. Ardie Lang Schafer Ough

    I havent read the first but read the second was a joy to read……especially since I loved Pastor Charlie and Dora Grier. Plus I love your Aunt Dee. She is ans was a very dear friend. .God bless you!!

  6. I appreciate all the well wishes and comments…they mean a lot to me!

  7. Lauren Carr

    Thank you for visiting, John! You’re welcome back anytime!

  8. Thank you for having me! I enjoyed the interview as well as the comments!

  9. Great interview John! We love your books, and cannot wait for the next one to come out!

  10. Michelle Grubb

    Very interesting interview John! Best of luck to you on all future endeavors!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

