Author Spotlight: Robert W Sweeting

Look out, C.S. Lewis! We have a new author of children’s mysteries in town: Robert W. Sweeting!

Robert W. Sweeting was born and raised in Florida. He lived in New Orleans, Louisiana for several years. It is here that he fell in love with the mysteries of the swampland. He now resides on the Mississippi Gulf Coast where he writes and works.

Robert W. Sweeting
author of Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp

Welcome to Literary Wealth, Robert. Please tell us a little about yourself?

I am the author of Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp, which is book one in a series of four.  I was born and raised in Pensacola, Florida. I spent most of my young adult life in New Orleans, Louisiana. It is there that I fell in love with the mysteries that the swamp holds. I now reside on the Mississippi Gulf Coast where I work and write.

 A lot of people are on Twitter these days, so can you describe Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp for us in 140 characters or less?

Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp is a fantastic tale for middle school children/young teens!

When did you begin writing Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp? What inspired it and how much research was involved in writing it?

It was well over 10 years ago when I was laid off at work. I was turning 40 and did not know what I was going to do next. I always had stories in my head, but never put them on paper. I literally woke in the middle of a thunderstorm and Kekaju entered my life. As far as research, I majored in biology and I always frequented the zoo, swamps and plantations in Louisiana. I guess you can call that research. The truth is, when I start to write, I let my characters lead me. Sometimes, I don’t know where the story will end up.

What or who made the biggest influence on you wanting to become a writer?

I would have to say my grandmother. She always told me wonderful tales and would encourage me to make up my own tales. Late at night before bed we would sit and play cards. During the game, she would start a story then I would add to it and so on until a story was born.

What was the first book you ever wrote about and was it ever published?

Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp is the first book I ever wrote. I published it independently.

Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp
Click on book cover to purchase on Amazon

Do you have any writing habits that people might find unusual?

I talk out loud to my characters as I write. I guess that’s a bit out there.

Do you have a favorite character or one that is especially close to your heart?

Cronie the white Alligator and Balstrop the Pelican.

What is your all-time favorite book?

Gone with the Wind

Other than yourself, who is your favorite author?

Anne Rice

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Writing and Gardening

Where can our readers connect with you, robert?

My blog is:The Kekaju Project

They can also find me on facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/rsweetin1

And we can’t forget to tell them where they can buy Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp:

Links to buy book:
Ebook: Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp Ebook
Paperback: Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp Paperback


Giveaway! Giveaway! Giveaway!

Leave a comment below and enter the giveaway a free eBook version of Robert W. Sweeting’s  fantastic mystery Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp! (Don’t forget to leave your e-mail so that we may contact you if you win!) Giveaway ends: Thursday, June 21!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Robert W Sweeting

  1. Lauren Carr

    Hello, Robert! What a great book! I can’t wait for our readers to read it.

  2. Congratulations on your book. It sounds like a good read.

  3. Hi Robert,
    This was a great interview, and it sounds like a great read. Best of luck!

  4. Robert, great interview. I posted the site on my facebook page, twitter, and Linkedit.
    Good luck with your book. Joyce Brennan joycebrennan.blogspot.com

  5. Interesting interview, Robert. I’m coming from your message to me on Linkedin. I appreciate the connection.

    Blessings,

    Tom Blubaugh, Author
    Night of the Cossack
    http://tomblubaugh.com

  6. Nice interview. It is so nice to learn some things about another writer. I look forward to the day when I am able to publish my book. Thanks for sharing. Sally

  7. Kappy Stephens

    I read your book and loved it. Sometimes I picture my self in the swamp looking for Cronie! I am an adult and loved the book! Best of luck! Kappy

  8. Wayne Adam

    Congrats on the book and interview. All the best.

  9. Found you from my LInked In connection and am so glad I did. I write for children, also.

    This sounds like a great book! congrats! And thanks for the give away chance. I want this book. LOL
    Thanks for introducing it to us.

  10. I pinned this on Pinterest and tweeted about it. I’ll try and face book it too!

  11. Robert, I’ve always pictured the the bayous and swamps as romantic, but not in the kiss-kiss way…

  12. I love to taste words in my mouth and Kekaju is one that tempts. It has a Swahili flavour to it — I guess the origins are similar — and Africa is a continent close to my heart. Sounds like a good read for young and old — I fell in love with children’s literature when I introduced my kids to Harry Potter, Aslan and a whole horde of other wonderful characters. Hopefully, I’ll have time to get round to reading it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

