Author Spotlight: Bob O’Connor

Are you in for a treat today! Today, Literary Wealth has the honor of introducing you to the award-winning historical novelist, Bob O’Connor. An expert in the Civil War, Bob O’Connor’s books take readers back to the life and times of the war between the states.

Bob O’Connor
Author and Speaker

Welcome to Literary Wealth, the blog to find those undiscovered jewels of literature! Would you tell us a little about yourself?

YES  My name is Bob O’Connor. I am the author of seven books mostly about the Civil War. I live in Charles Town, WV. I have two children and six grandchildren.

A lot of people are on Twitter these days, so can you describe A House Divided Against Itself  for us in 140 characters or less (which is the size of a tweet)?

A House Divided Against Itself is a historical fiction account of two brothers, both from Gettysburg,  who fought on opposite sides of the Civil War.

When did you begin writing A House Divided Against Itself?  What inspired this book and how much research was involved in writing it?

I began writing A House Divided Against Itself about four years ago. It is a story I heard about ten years ago at a Rotary Club meeting in Martinsburg. My research took me to the Carlisle War College Research Center, the National archives, and the Adams County Historical Society.  The book is based on regimental records and 90 letters of the participants.

Bob O’Connor’s latest book is about two brothers fighting on different sides of the Civil War
Click on Book cover to visit Bob’s website & order books.

What or who made the biggest influence on you wanting to become a writer?

My teachers in elementary school praised my writings. And my parents and family always encouraged me.

Do you have any writing habits that people might find unusual?

I use photographs, maps, drawings and historical documents in my novels. I also blog as Abraham Lincoln’s bodyguard with my postings exactly 150 year ago from the date you read them.

Do you have a favorite character or one that is especially close to your heart?

I have always been intrigued by John Brown, abolitionist. And because I grew up in Illinois, I have an interested in Abraham Lincoln.

What is the best gift you have ever received, do you still have it and who gave it to you?

The gift of life. My mother. Yes, I still have it!

What is something that you have always wanted to do, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet? 

I have always wanted to go to Ireland, and I will.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what three things would you hope to find in your suitcase?

Water, a laptop (so I can write about my experience), and some Hershey candy

What is your all-time favorite book?

Killer Angels by Michael Shaara, a Pulitzer Prize winning book that changed how I looked a the Civil War.

Other than yourself, who is your favorite author?

LAUREN CARR (thanks, Bob!) – and Michael Chrichton

If a TV show was based on your life, what type of TV show would it be (i.e., comedy, drama, suspense, etc.) who would you choose to play the leading character (you), and what would the theme song be? Why?

Definitely a comedy. Leading character would be Harrison Ford.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Write – when not writing, hang out with my grand kids

Are you an early bird or a night owl?

Both – when I am in the groove, I just keep on going no matter what the time.

What is your favorite TV show and/or movie?

I don’t watch TV. My favorite movie is “Glory” which is about the courageous U.S. Colored Troops

If you were throwing a dinner party and you could invite five people (fictional or real, dead or alive), other than family or friends, who would you invite and why?

John Brown, Abraham Lincoln, John Wilkes Booth – because they are my three most interesting historical characters – Lady Diana and Mother Theresa of Calcutta. Now wouldn’t that be an interesting mix!!

If you had the opportunity to go anywhere you wanted, at anytime in history, where would you go and why?

Into the American Civil War as an observer. Just because it is such an interesting time period. I definitely would not, however, want to go back to be a soldier.

What are you currently working on?

Three books including the sequel to “Catesby: Eyewitness to the Civil War”.

Where can people connect with you online?

www.boboconnorbooks.com, www.lincolnsbodyguard.com and examiner.com/civil-war-in-national/bob-o-connor

Thank you so much Undiscovered Author for being on Literary Wealth! Here’s to Hoping You Get Discovered Today!

No – thank you!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Bob O’Connor

  1. Lauren
    Thanks for having me as a guest on your blog. You are the best. Bob

  2. Lauren Carr

    Thank you for stopping by, Bob! Have fun on your book tour!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

