Guest Appearance: Jessica Lauryn

It’s always great to have someone willing to work for you, even if just for one day. Today, we have Romance Author Jessica Lauryn.

Jessica Lauryn
Romance Author

At two years old, Jessica became a devoted fan of both listening to and reciting the books her parents would read to her at night. When she was a little older (about four), she sought a greater challenge in her life, and began making up stories of her own, acting them out with her dolls. “When the dolls got “boyfriends,” she says, “I knew I was getting too old for dolls!”

A life-long lover of romance, Jessica took several writing classes in college, and told her professors she was one-day going to write soap-operas. When graduation came, she joined a critique group, and on a whim, decided to “write a romance novel.” That first attempt will forever be staying under the mattress…

Then, on a train ride to her internship in the fashion industry, Jessica finally cracked open her first romance novel. That hot August morning, she fell head-over-heels for the genre, and has been writing it ever since.

Jessica is most intrigued by dark heroes, who have many demons to conquer…but little trouble enticing female companions into their beds! She feels that the best romances are those where the hero is already seducing the heroine from that first point of contact. “Isn’t it the hero’s job to seduce?” she says with a grin.

Jessica loves to see the sparks fly when a stubborn, domineering hero crosses paths with a bold, feisty heroine, and uses the combination frequently in her stories.

When she’s is not writing, Jessica enjoys listening to as much 80’s music as possible, watching the same re-runs of Smallville over and over, shopping for exceptionally unique cameos, and taking long walks in nature where she can daydream about anything romantic. Though she resides in Central New Jersey, her heart belongs to the White Mountain National Forest in New Hampshire.

It is so great to have you here, Jessica! Take it away!

Dangerous Proposal

Thanks so much for having me, Lauren!  I’m very excited to see so many other wonderful authors here at Literary Wealth.  I know I’m in good company 😉

As both a reader and writer alike, there are few things I enjoy more than cuddling up with a great romance novel, one filled with action, suspense, a strong heroine, and most importantly, a hero that can make me go weak at the knees.  From sweet to erotic, spicy to subdued, for me, the hero is the heart of the romance novel.  He is the center of his own universe, the opposition to the heroine’s goal, and whether she is aware of it or otherwise, he is the man she secretly desires.  I know I speak for many when I say that I enjoy seeing that desire manifest itself as early as possible in a story so that by the time things begin to come to a head, I’m practically dying for that dangerously-sexy hero to toss me onto his bed, (or look into my eyes from across a candlelight dinner) and make paradise come to life before my eyes.  That, my friends, is epitome of the imagination at work.  And that is the foundation for a great romance novel!

Contrary to what some people probably believe, I did not begin writing romance novels over night.  Though it sometimes seems that way, the desire to create a great story is something that built in me over time, really, my whole life.  I’ve always loved to read, and evidence of this is showcased in pictures my mother took of me as a small child, and even a baby, picking up books and “reading” them, by myself, on the carpet.  By age two and a half, I had memorized several of my favorites, the best of which, I will never forget, was Fuzzy Rabbit.  Shortly after, I began playing with dolls and using them as characters as I made up stories of my own.  In my world, that simply meant I was “playing.” I still see it that way even now.

As romance readers (and writers!), we share a common love, one which greatly separates us from readers other genres of fiction.  We crave the books we do, not simply for the sake of watching a passionate love affair play itself out (though God knows that can be pretty enjoyable!).  But even more importantly, we read for the “happily ever after,” knowing that the hero and heroine have found their happiness with each other, and will remain together in a relationship which fulfills their desires and dreams forever after.  This can often be a difficult thing to believe in, particularly in a world full of cynicism and doubt.  But in a romance novel, the happily ever after always comes.  It is an absolute guarantee in the genre, which is perhaps why so many of us are drawn to it.  (Perhaps if enough of us read them, we can begin to be swept away, encouraging the whole world to be a little more romantic!)

As a romance novelist, I promise my readers that no matter how difficult the journey, the hero and heroine WILL have their happily ever after.  It’s what I want, and I know (even without taking the rules of the genre as gospel, that it’s what my readers want to.)  But HEA doesn’t always come so easily, and often times, making it a challenge for the H/H to get there can make it even more spectacular when they finally do.

Dangerous Ally
Jessica Lauryn’s Debut Novel

In my debut novel, Dangerous Ally, Lucas Ramone, a diamond smuggling kingpin and all around bad-boy is stopped in his tracks when he meets Lilah Benson, hard-nosed journalist for the New York Times and stunningly beautiful young sister of his ex-fiancée.  Lucas must come head-to-head with the darkest part of his soul, and who better to help him do this than the woman he’s unknowingly ( or perhaps KNOWINGLY) falling in love with!  In my latest release, Dangerous Proposal, we’re introduced to Alec Westwood, a hero who, at nineteen years of age, contemplated murder.  Who better for him to run into in a bar than Lena Benson (Lilah’s older sister), a woman who’s beautiful brown hair and knock-out curves aren’t the only thing leaving him breathless.  Just after the couple shares a steam kiss, Alec realizes his sexy bar-fly is wearing an amulet, encasing a distinct picture of a cougar, the very symbol for the criminal organization that recruited him ten years ago.

What these two stories have in common (aside from the fact that they are both a part of the Pinnacles of Power Series) is that no matter how many twists and turns the stories take, no matter how high the stakes are raised, in the end, hero and heroine will live happily ever after.  It’s by no means the only draw of the romance novel, but it is certainly one that will keep those of us who love them, coming back time and time again 😉

Contact Links:

Website:  www.jessicalauryn.com

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/romancebyjessicalauryn

Linked In:  http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jessica-lauryn/2a/9ba/761

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/#!/JessicaLauryn_

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5081732.Jessica_Lauryn

Buy Links:

Dangerous Proposal:

http://www.bookstrand.com/dangerous-proposal

Dangerous Ally:

Buy the e-book:

SirenBookStrand:  http://www.bookstrand.com/jessica-lauryn

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Dangerous-Pinnacles-BookStrand-Publishing-ebook/dp/B0054ROAR8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1308661625&sr=8-1

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dangerous-ally-jessica-lauryn/1103392690?ean=9781610342810&itm=2&usri=dangerous%2bally

Buy the Paperback:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1610346971/bookstrand-20

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dangerous-ally-jessica-lauryn/1103392690

GIVEAWAY! Don’t forget to leave a comment  (with your e-mail address so that we may contact you) to enter the drawing for a chance to win an e-copy of Jessica Lauryn’s hot new book: Dangerous Proposal! Chance to win ends midnight, Wednesday, June 27!

Thank you for stopping by, Jessica. Pinnacles of Powers series sounds hot, and dangerous! I’m sure our readers are going to check them out–they won’t be sorry. Do stop by again!

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Guest Appearance: Jessica Lauryn

  1. Dangerous Proposal sounds fabulous! I’m a sucker for a great kick butt romantic suspense.

  2. Jennifer Sampson

    I love a happy ever after. Torture them all you want through the book, but at the end, I want to know the hero and heroine will be together. Looking forward to Dangerous Proposal.

  3. Jessica, your books are in my TBR pile…can’t wait to read about these sexy heroes! I agree with you…even when, at times, it is hard to believe HEA exists, romance novels give us readers hope. In this world of demands on time, family, and loving relationships, romance novels remind us that love can prevail over any obstacle, as long as we believe it can.

  4. Great comments, everyone! I say if enough of us read romance novels and soak up the messages given to us in each one, we’ll bring these stories to life. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

