Guest Post: Death Opens Whole New World: How I Met My New Best Friend

Today, we have a guest blog at Literary Wealth from author Annette Rose. Her hilarious book, Eat, Scream, and be Merry: Meatballs and Mayhem in Mountain Brooke,  is now available on Amazon and has bee receiving rave reviews. this is the perfect book to read at the time of year when family is meant to gather together. maybe her family will remind you of yours. Maybe her family will make you glad it doesn’t remind you of yours. Whatever the case, get Eat, Scream, and be Merry!

In this fantastic guest blog, I discover the story behind Annette’s first e-mail to me. Gee, Annette, I never realized someone had to die before you asked me for help!

If you find yourself in Annette’s blog post, working on a book, or having written a book, but needing someone to hold your hand will realizing your dream, don’t wait for someone to die to contact me. Feel free to shoot me an email (writerlaurencarr@gmail.com). I love to hear from authors!

If it weren’t for a deceased woman that I don’t even know I never would’ve met Lauren Carr. No, this is not a plot from one of her well-loved mystery novels, this is the truth.

Author Annette Rose
click on Pic to visit Annette’s Website

Honestly.

Let me explain. It was a pure coincidence that I met Lauren, one fateful day when someone handed me a newspaper with a nice article about her mystery series and her picture it in. Only because a kind soul, whose dearly departed mother’s newspaper was forwarded to him via the post office, did he offer it to me. You see, my daughter attends Shepherd University, and he thought maybe that would connect me a little to her part of the world.

Heck with that theory; he connected me with the newest part of my world:

I had been writing Eat, Scream, and be Merry, my first novel, for about two years at the time.

Writing.

Rewriting.

Editing along the way.

Putting it down every so often.

Picking it up in between the goings on of having an empty nest, then a not-so-empty nest, working, dieting, etcetera, and so forth. You know…real life stuff that takes up all of your time.

To make a long story even longer, which is what I do best, my heart skipped a beat when I read this article. What’s this, I thought, a lady that wrote a bookhmmmlike meand published it…INDEPENDENTLY…hmmm…and she looks so…NORMAL!

Lauren Carr
Author, Publisher
Hand-Holding Friend to New Writers

Oh, this was exciting and it was a helpful article indeed. But it was in the last lines somewhere in that paper that I made me just about leap out of my chair.

WHAT? She helps aspiring authors? Glad to answer questions…help them along their literary journey…

Cue the music for the happy dance.

It was if the gods rained good news down upon me, an aspiring author, who had half a book written, no earthly idea how or who or when it would be printed but sure beyond anything I ever knew in my heart that I would have a tangible book in my hands one day and hold it up, leaf through it, and say, “Told you so!” to any bold naysayers of which there were…none. Because I didn’t have the nerve to tell anyone I was writing a book at that point.

I read the article once. Then twice. Thrice. I hung it on the refrigerator in between the honey-do list that is still there and a losing lottery ticket. There was Lauren Carr staring back at me and her email address begging to be put into the address line of my “Compose” box.

Well, she said she would be happy to answer questions, I told myself for the tenth time, so what would an email hurt?

Wouldn’t hurt, I concluded.

I mustered up all the courage I could at 7 a.m. the next day. I was giddy. Nervous. I had only thirty minutes until work and luckily it only takes me 60 seconds to get there, and that’s if I walk slowly. So I really had 29 minutes but technically I should have 19 minutes because I like to arrive a wee bit early, to the dismay of those who think I should arrive 20 minutes early.

I digress.

Anyhoo, I typed my draft to Lauren. Should I call her Lauren? Miss Carr? Ms. Carr? Mrs. Carr? Oh, dear. Okay, I should be short but I have to make my point because after all, it was a first impression, I thought. So maybe I could be witty. But not too witty. But I would like her to have a sense of who I am. What I’m about. Oh geez.

I typed.

I retyped.

I definitely proofread. My God, she’s an author, I thought. I didn’t dare want to make any mistakes in an email to a published author that I was asking for help, for God’s sake.

I probably read it ten times and held my breath when I hit the “Send” button. There was no “undo” buttons on that email. That was it. I held my breath and hoped this woman at least responded and hoped even more that she didn’t give me the brush off.

Eat, Scream, and be Merry
Click on Cover to Purchase on Amazon

And you know what?

She sure did respond. And she was nice. And funny. And kind. And truly, because she did a little hand-holding for me through her Acorn Books Services company that specializes in hand-holding of authors, especially no-idea-what they-are-doing new ones like me, I have a book. It’s tangible. I hold it up and leaf through it. I like it. It makes me smile. It makes laugh. It makes others laugh.

And the truth is, I hope you read it and it makes YOU laugh.

So God bless you, Lauren Carr, and you too, Miss Arlene, I hope you are looking down at all this and smiling. You had a huge part of this and don’t even know it.

Or maybe you do.

About the Author:

Annette Rose is a West Virginia native who grew up with six brothers and sisters above her father’s company store. She and her husband still make their home in a small town in the West Virginia hills, where her Italian heritage has been a strong influence in her life. Annette is a graduate of Fairmont State College with a Graphic Arts degree and once enjoyed being a self-employed baker. Since then, she has devoted her life to being a creative mom to her two beautiful and artistic daughters. Her passion is throwing theme parties. Look for Annette’s Max the Zany Dog stories to be published soon.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

