Character Interview: Johnny Butterfield of Goose Pimple Junction

Character Bio
Johnny Butterfield is the new chief of police in Goose Pimple Junction. He’s a former state trooper who is as tall and wide as Paul Bunyan but who has a heart as big as Texas. Johnny is a cross between Sherriffs Andy Taylor and Walt Longmire, and Goose Pimple Junction is lucky—and happy—to have him.

Heroes and Hooligans in Goose Pimple Junction is the second installment in Amy Metz's best-selling Goose Pimple Junction mystery Series. Click on book cover to see book on Amazon.

Heroes and Hooligans in Goose Pimple Junction is the second installment in Amy Metz’s best-selling Goose Pimple Junction mystery series. Click on book cover to see book on Amazon.

About the book:
Goose Pimple Junction is just recovering from a kidnapping and a murder, its first major crimes in years, when trouble begins anew. Life is turned upside down in the quirky little Southern town with the arrival of several shifty hooligans: A philandering husband intent on getting his wife back, another murderer loose in town, a stalker intent on frightening Martha Maye, and a thief who’s stealing the town blind of their pumpkins, pies, and peace. Together, they’re scaring the living daylights out of the residents and keeping the new police chief busier than a set of jumper cables at a redneck picnic. Suddenly, he has his hands full trying to apprehend a killer, stop a stalker, and fight his feelings for the damsel in distress.

Interview with Chief Johnny Butterfield:
1. Johnny, how did you first meet your writer?
I was working as a state trooper and Amy recruited me to help out with a hostage situation. We don’t get many of those situations around here, so I was happy that she called me in to help.

2. Want to dish about her?
My mama taught me it’s not polite to talk about people behind their backs . . . but I’ll just say she’s a little like Tess Tremaine: newly divorced, loves books, and she could trip over a cordless phone.

3. Did you ever think that your life would end up being in a book?
Law, no. But I never thought I’d be chief of police either. I can thank Amy for both of those things happening.

4. Did you have a hard time convincing Amy to write any particular scenes for you?
Yes. I wanted a little bit more romantic action, but she put her foot down. She did let me have several good kissing scenes, for which I’m grateful. I’d also like a good shoot ‘em up scene, and she promises I’ll have that in the next book.

6. Have you ever fantasized about changing your first name?
No, but when I was a kid I wanted to change my last name to Cash. I thought that would be totally cool.

7. What impression do you make on people when they first meet you? How about after they’ve known you for a while?
Some people liken me to Paul Bunyan because I’m so tall. I’m a pretty big fella, too, and sometimes my size will put a pause in someone’s step. But once they get to know me, they see I’m tender as Louetta’s pie crust. Don’t get me wrong—as an officer of the law, I’m as tough as shoe leather, but I have a heart that matches my height. There’s no need to fear me unless you break the law.

Click on Book Cover to download Murder and Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction on Amazon.

Click on Book Cover to download Murder and Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction on Amazon.

8. What’s the best birthday cake you’ve ever eaten?
My mama used to make me a Southern Praline Cake for my birthday. I still dream about that cake. Shewee, that was good eating.

9. Are there any laws that completely baffle you?
It is illegal to carry an ice cream cone in your pocket. I kid you not—that’s an actual law. I don’t think it’s worth my time to get that one taken off the books, but seriously? Have you ever seen anyone carry an ice cream cone in a pocket? I mean, how did that become a law? Was there an epidemic of folks walking around with ice cream cones in their pockets and someone said, “That ain’t right?” It’s truly baffling.

10. Can you tell when someone is lying?
Yes. They won’t look you in the eye. Occasionally, I’ll come across someone who can look me in the eye and lie their butt off, but they’re sociopaths and we don’t get many of them around these parts–thankfully.

11. What’s something you tried that you’ll never try again?
Deep fried turduckin.

12. Have you ever been afraid for your physical safety?
Well, I can’t say too much about it or I’ll ruin the ending of Heroes & Hooligans, but let’s just say when I saw a two-ton vehicle barreling straight at me, I did some pretty strong praying.

13. Besides two-ton vehicles barreling straight at you, are you afraid of anything?
Praying mantis. Those things are just creepy. They have faces that look like a snake with huge antennae poking out. Their long legs are just disturbing. And they have claw-like thingies where their arms should be. I’m not ashamed to say when I see one of those bugs, I scream like a girl. Okay, I’m a little ashamed.

14. What’s your personal theme song?
Hmm . . . that’s a hard one. Maybe Garth Brooks’ “Unanswered Prayers.”

15. What are you starving for?
Some of Martha Maye’s fried catfish, cornbread, and lemon pound cake.

Click on Amy to visit her website to learn more about Goosepimple Junction.

Click on Amy to visit her website to learn more about Goosepimple Junction.

About the author:
Amy Metz is the author of the Goose Pimple Junction mystery series. She is a former first grade teacher and the mother of two sons. When not actively engaged in writing, enjoying her family, or surfing Facebook or Pinterest, Amy can usually be found with a mixing spoon, camera, or book in one hand and a glass of sweet tea in the other. Amy lives in Louisville, Kentucky.

Website: http://amymetz.com
Blog: http://abluemillionbooks.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMetz
Twitter: https://twitter.com/authoramymetz
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6436458.Amy_Metz
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Heroes-Hooligans-Goose-Pimple-Junction-ebook/dp/B00R6CWTYU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1418918881&sr=8-1&keywords=heroes+%26+hooligan

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Character Interview: Johnny Butterfield of Goose Pimple Junction

  1. Thank you kindly for having Johnny on your blog today. He said this was his first interview and he’s honored!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

